as our floodlights gave way to dawn

by Echotide

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.
    Purchasable with gift card

      name your price


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Echotide's 2012 album "as our floodlights gave way to dawn" on CD, featuring a single gatefold LP style CD wallet.

    With artwork designed by Echotide members Michael Gagen and Matthew Martin and printed in Australia from FSC certified paper and card stocks and 100% recycled polypropylene plastic.

    Includes unlimited streaming of as our floodlights gave way to dawn via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 7 days

      $15 AUD or more 


  • T-Shirt/Apparel + Digital Album

    These are the test-printing we had made before our crowdfunding campaign last year.

    There is one available in every size (mens and ladies) and once they’re gone they’re gone. If you missed out on our crowd fund and still want to rock an Echotide shirt, this is your chance!

    Designed by Echotide keyboardist Matthew Martin, and printed in Australia and on certified organic and certified fair-trade cotton.

    Includes unlimited streaming of as our floodlights gave way to dawn via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 5 days
    2 remaining

      $25 AUD or more 


Floodlights 11:10
Embers Glow 13:00
Stillwaters 10:12


Seven symphonies for life, for reverb, for red wine, for smw and the hz, for old flames, for family, for out of tune pianos, for a girl, for friends around dinner tables, for storms, for drunken fights and sober paths home, for daydreams, for broken drum sticks, new guitar strings and ringing ears, for confusion and for clarity. It's yours for free. 


released October 21, 2012

Echotide are:
Geoff Irish - Drums, Aux Percussion, Glockenspiel, Keyboards
Matthew Martin - Piano, Keyboards, Sampling.
Michael Gagen - Everything else.

Echotide are also:
Brendon Blanchard - Bass guitar on Embers Glow
Alan Bremner - Trumpet on Embers Glow
Tim Charles - Violin on Embers Glow and Stillwaters
Adrian Diery - Electric guitar on Embers Glow
Melinda Gagen - Djembe, grand piano and glockenspiel on Embers Glow.
Jesse Higginson - Orchestration on 3mwy, rhodes on Embers Glow
Chrispy Lait - 8 string electric guitar on Embers Glow
Simon James Lane - Arturia Origin on Embers Glow

Number Station recording "German Lady Irdial" in Of Addictions taken from "The Conet Project: Recordings Of Shortwave Number Stations"

Our love, our apologies and our endless thanks to:
Simon, Chrispy, Jesse, Chris Neehause, Chris, Hayden and Jeremy at York St. Stuart George and Kirk Harmer. Mike Solo and all at Birds Robe Collective. Melinda, Tim, Allan, Brendo, Adrian. Households; Irish, Martin and Gagen. Katie Lee Grech. Our dearly beloveds in Arcane, Caligula's Horse, Flynn Effect and Soma. Szevvy, Samantha, Will and Alex. Elise. sleepmakeswaves & Hazards of Swimming Naked. Marty Wombold and Paul Robards. Every band we've played with. Every dive bar who's welcomed us. Every road we've driven.

All songs written by Echotide 2007-2012
Recorded by Chris Lait and Michael Gagen
Mixed by Michael Gagen and Simon James Lane. 
Mastered by Chris Stinchcombe at York Street Mastering, New Zealand.
Artwork by Michael Gagen and Matthew Martin


all rights reserved



Echotide Brisbane, Australia

With a slow-burn, introspective sound, Echotide are an Australian cinematic/post rock three piece with a dynamic songcraft approach, ranging from delicate and minimalist ambient to an all-encompassing wall-of-sound.

contact / help

Contact Echotide

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Echotide recommends:

If you like Echotide, you may also like: